2017

2017

The Lunchtime Seminars are held in the NDDC Seminar Room (West Block, D Floor, QMC) every Friday at 1pm

Friday 6th January 2017 presented by Jo Morley. She will be talking on the research into the possibility of screening for liver disease that she is going to be doing in Nottingham

Friday 13th January 2017 presented by Professor Guru Aithal ‘BRC GI and Liver Theme’

Friday 20th January 2017 presented by Dr Jane Grove ‘Identification of risk factors for drug-induced liver injury’

Friday 27th January 2017 presented by Professor Nigel Minton ‘CdtR-mediated regulation of binary toxin in Clostridium difficile’

Friday 3rd February 2017 presented by Darren Letley ‘Regulatory features of the Helicobacter pylori vacuolating cytotoxin gene, vacA’

Friday 10th February 2017 presented by three students: Ella Whitehouse ‘Blood glucose and gastrointestinal responses to millet and oat breakfast interventions assessed by MRI (MOM)’, Jessica Steadman ‘The accuracy of CT tumour staging of colon cancer’ and Adrianna Liu ‘Imaging for the diagnosis and follow-up of retroperitoneal and abdominopelvic sarcoma: a systematic review’

Friday 17th February 2017 presented by three students: Lucy Ashleigh ‘A Pilot Study to Assess the Effect of Rhubarb and Lettuce on Intestinal Water Content Through Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Small Bowel and Ascending Colon.’ Charlotte Cooper ‘Evaluation of a Diagnosis and Optimisation for Potential Surgery (DOPS) Clinic’ and Rachel Thavayogan ‘Quality of Recovery after Colorectal Resection.’

Friday 24th February 2017 presented by two students: Lavandan Jegatheeswaran ‘The Clinical Impact of Non-Removal of Small Polyps During Colonoscopy.’ Bairavi Manoharan ‘Validation of the Endoscopic classification for Colorectal Laterally spreading tumours (LSTs).’

Friday 3rd March 2017 presented by Professor Will Irving ‘Hepatitis C Assessment Through to Treatment (HepCATT): did it work?’

Friday 10th March 2017 presented by Shanthi Krishnasamy ‘Understanding the mechanism of fermentable carbohydrates in healthy volunteers.’

Friday 17th March 2017 presented by Emmanouil Psaltis ‘Are histologically normal appendices always normal?’

Friday 24th March 2017 presented by Dr Luca Marciani ‘Using MRI of bowel motility and fluids to advance in vivo predictive dissolution of drug products: update on the FDA programme’

Friday 31st March 2017 presented by Dr Colin Crooks ‘Emergency admissions following endoscopy’

Friday 7th April 2017 presented by Kwadwo Boampong ‘Maintenance of virulence-associated mobile elements in H. pylori: characterization of an ICE encoded toxin-antitoxin system’

Friday 21st April 2017 presented by Prita Daliya ‘Multimedia Informed Consent and Patient Reported Outcome Measures’

Friday 28th April 2017 presented by Dr Maura Corsetti ‘State-of-the-art lecture: Evolving concepts in colonic manometry and implications for clinical practice’. Maura will also present the results of the consensus she lead in Belgium last year to which she is submitting for publication.

Friday 5th May 2017 presented by Asseel Khalaf ‘MRI studies of post-prandial gastrointestinal motility and peptide response in health and Crohn’s disease’

Friday 19th May 2017 presented by Dr Sabina Beg ‘Software and hardware advancements in capsule endoscopy’.

Friday 26th May 2017 presented by Dr Oliver Ng ‘Anaemia in Oesophagogastric Cancer’

Friday 2nd June 2017 presented by Professor Mohammad Ilyas ‘The Nottingham Molecular Pathology Node: the story so far’

Friday 9th June 2017 presented by Gita Thapaliya ‘Altered appetite in Crohn’s Disease: Deconstructing the enteroendocrine axis’

Friday 16th June 2017 presented by Dr Giles Major ‘Preventing recurrence of Clostridium difficile associated diarrhoea: the RAPID trial’

Friday 23rd June 2017 presented by Dr Katie Rollins ‘Cross sectional imaging for body composition - potential pitfalls and future work’

Friday 30th June 2017 presented by Jaber Alyami ‘MRI studies of gastrointestinal, metabolic and appetite responses to isoenergetic breakfasts of different plant grain origin

Friday 14th July 2017 presented by Aparna Briggs ‘Evaluating the development of the Nottingham Digestive Diseases Interface’

Friday 21st July 2017 presented by Dr Rob Scott ‘Developing methods to evaluate small bowel permeability’

Friday 28th July 2017 presented by Ekene Ogbodo ‘Immunoregulatory properties of helicobacter pylori molecules’

There are no Friday Lunchtime Seminars throughout August

Friday 1st September presented by Jonathan Hollands ‘Research Information System (RIS) overview’

Friday 8th September 2017 presented by Dr Prarthana Thiagarajan ‘ECLIPSE Study Proposal (Effect of Carnitine supplementation on Liver steatosis, Insulin sensitivity, Plasma glucose homeostasis, Skeletal muscle metabolism and Energetics: a volunteer study)’

Friday 15th September 2017 presented by Dr Richard Ingram ‘Trainee-led collaborative clinical networks - the GARNet’

Friday 22nd September 2017 presented by Dr Tanya Monaghan ‘Anne McLaren Fellowship (Clostridium difficilein Urbanised and Tribal Communities in Central India: An Epidemiological, Molecular and Ethnopharmacological Study)’

Friday 29th September 2017 presented by Dr Rebecca Harris ‘Risk stratification of chronic liver disease in primary care’

Friday 6th October 2017 presented by Jordan McGing ‘IBD Fatigue Study Proposal (Non-invasive approaches to identify the cause of fatigue in inflammatory bowel disease patients)’ AND

Saisakul Chernbumroong ‘Advanced machine learning techniques to identify a panel of biomarkers that identify non-alcoholic steatohepatitis’

Friday 13th October 2017 presented by Dr Lu Ban ‘Introduction to the Research Methodology Support Team in the NDDC BRC’