Lunchtime Seminars 2018

Lunchtime Seminars 2018

The Lunchtime Seminars are held in the NDDC Seminar Room (West Block, D Floor, QMC) every Friday at 1pm

Friday 12th January 2018 presented by Dr Ahmad Moolla, Clinical Research Fellow, The University of Oxford. The title of his presentation is: ‘The urinary steroid metabolome as a novel non-invasive tool to stage non-alcoholic fatty liver disease’

Friday 19th January 2018 presented by Harry Jenkins. The title of his presentation is: ‘Helicobacter pylori and Protection from Multiple Sclerosis’

Friday 26th January 2018 presented by Aloysious Aravinthan. The title of his presentation is ‘Cellular senescence & HCC – is there a link?’

Friday 2nd February 2018 presented by Victoria Wilkinson-Smith ‘Reclassifying constipation using MRI and high resolution manometry to define mechanism of disease and target treatment.’

Friday 9th February 2018 presented by Alex Harris ‘The high-resolution manometry as a new technique to study the effect of drugs on colonic motility and the pathophysiological mechanisms of functional bowel disorders’ AND Rajani Murthy ‘Nopal: a pilot participant-blind study of the effect of bran, psyllium and nopalon intestinal water content using Magnetic Resonance Imaging’

Friday 16th February 2018 presented by Carolyn Costigan ‘MARCO study: MRI of whole gut transit time in newly diagnosed coeliac disease’

Friday 23rd February 2018 presented by Jane Grove ‘Can genotyping be used to identify people likely to have undiagnosed chronic liver disease?’

Friday 9th March 2018 presented by Ali Alyami ‘MAP study, a new MR-based Perianal Crohn’s disease activity score: A multi-centre study’

Friday 23rd March 2018 presented by Adeboyejo Kazeem Adeyinka ‘High Prevalence of Hepatitis C Virus Subtypes Harbouring Antiviral Resistance Mutations and Evaluation of Commercial Genotyping Assays in a Cohorts of Sub-Saharan African Individuals’

Friday 6th April 2018 presented by Prita Daliya ‘Improving consent in the digital era – Learning fromMontgomery’

Friday 20th April 2018 presented by Maura Corsetti ‘Nottingham Gastric Emptying Test: is this predictive of the response to treatment in patients with functional dyspepsia or cyclic vomiting syndrome?’

Friday 27th April 2018 presented by Peggy Cho Kiu Lo ‘In-vitro modelling of inherited non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) using human induced pluripotent stem cells (hiPSCs)’

Friday 4th May 2018 presented by Dr Marietta Iacucci from the University of Birmingham ‘Advanced endoscopy imaging and therapy in the colon: novel concept in Birmingham and Future collaboration’

Friday 11th May 2018 presented by Darren Letley ‘The gastric microbiome in the atrophic stomach’

Friday 18th May 2018 presented by Aditya Agarwal ‘ERCP Audit 2016/17: Statistics of Art and Science’

Friday 25th May 2018 presented by Joanne Morling ‘Bowel Cancer Screening: Where are we with FIT?’ AND Gita Thapaliya ‘An examination of eating behaviour in Crohn’s Disease’

Friday 1st June 2018 presented by Mohammad Ilyas ‘What’s new about Lynch Syndrome?’

Friday 8th June 2018 presented by Professor Soren Moller from the University of Copenhagen in D96 of the Medical School ‘Haemodynamic complications to cirrhosis and portal hypertension’

Friday 15th June 2018 presented by Tim Card